Court records!

Last night at work, in between doing work tasks, I thought it might be a good idea to see if there was any way to find divorce records in BC online.  I discovered I can’t, really, but what I did find was lists of probate files in BC – which lead me to the death date of my great aunt Winnie, which I had been looking for.  It was under her maiden name, not her married name, which threw me for a loop at first, but then there it was — after hours of searching, a single little chunk of information that helped me then find the following:

Her son’s birthdate in England.
Her marriage date in England.
Passenger records that show her son taking a trip back to England in 1957.

I am now combing through the records to see if she was also on the same ship that he was on, just to make sure I’m looking at the right person.  She wasn’t listed under her married name, so I’m reading it page by page.  Which is actually rather interesting, because it’s neat to see all the people listed on the ship’s records: imagine, a time when you travelled by boat to visit your parents’ relatives!

This entry was posted in Research Methods and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment