This week…

Full credit for this idea goes to Judy’s Family History.  She just posted about the events in her family’s past for today, so I thought I’d check my tree and see if my family had any major events today.  They don’t, but there are more than a few family events in the upcoming week!

And so, without further ado: this week, in my family history… a birth, a marriage, and a death.

March 26, 1848 – Margaret Nevison, my 3rd great grand aunt, was born in Kendal, Westmorland, England.  She was baptised on April 12, 1848, also in Kendal.  In 1851, she was living with her grandmother, her uncle, and her parents and siblings.   Her mother, Hannah Wales, died in 1855, and her father, Robert Nevison, died in 1856.  In the 1861 census, she is listed as living with her aunt and uncle in Kendal, in an area called Hillside.  I lose track of her after the 1861 census, when she was 13, and I assume she either died or was married before the 1871 census.  One day, I’ll find out what happened to her.

March 27, 1808 – William Wright and Ann Milford, my 4th great grandparents, were married in Dunsford, Devon, England.  She was 17, and he was 22.  They were both born in Dunsford, and they both spent their entire lives there as far as I can tell.  They had at least 3 children, Elizabeth, William, and John.  The Wrights were agricultural labourers, as were their children, and their grand children after them.  I would imagine, if I went to the cemetery in Dunsford, that I’d find a lot of Wrights there. 🙂

March 27, 1882 – Alexander McComb, my 3rd great grandfather, died in Glasgow, Lankarshire, Scotland, of lung disease.  I don’t know nearly enough yet about this man, my direct ancestor, except that he was a coal miner and he was born around 1830.  He married Ann Love on May 27, 1849, in Old Monkland, Lanarkshire, and they had at least one child, my 2nd great grandmother, Ann McComb.

This entry was posted in Surnames: Love, Surnames: McComb, Surnames: Milford, Surnames: Nevison, Surnames: Wales, Surnames: Wright, This Week... and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to This week…

  1. nvlynnae says:

    I was thinking the other day (when I officially started my genealogy blog) that I should do something like this with my family and create posts, but I needed to start gathering the dates in a calendar to organize it first. It is good to see that my idea is already being done successfully and is of great interest. I am now more inspired to get started with this ASAP. By the way, thanks for hopping over to my blog and following. I am now following your blog via “The Old Reader” RSS feed. P.S. I love finding family outlaws, too.

  2. it’s good fun, isn’t it? However, you’ve got a couple of puzzlers there and I couldn’t resist!

    I think Margaret Nevison might be the one who, in 1871, is a 20 year old servant at Ulverston in the household of Robert Phizackerly, licensed victualler. Ancestry have her name transcribed as Neveron but if you look at the image it’s clearly Nevison. There’s then a marriage for a Margaret Nevison in Kendal in 1872, to either Richard Beetham or John Thistlethwaite. From the 1881 census it looks as if she married John Thistlethwaite.

    • Matthew says:

      Oh, gosh, Judy, thanks! 🙂 I don’t spend as much time on my collateral lines as I should, but you’ve just inspired me to work on Margaret a little bit. 🙂 Thanks so much for digging into her story for me!

Leave a comment